Scientific Research Institutes > University Institutes > Nursing Science and Practice

Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Director: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Osterbrink



Since the autumn of 2007, along with the study in human medicine, also a study in nursing science is offered. This is mainly in reaction to social, demographic and medical developments in order to shape the future of the nursing care based on the needs.

The Institute for Nursing Science and Practice has set as a goal to educate its graduates, on the basis of the processes of social and structural change in the healthcare, as competent nursing care specialists. The interrelation between research and teaching, theory and practice, creates a scientific base for guaranteeing the modern patient care and satisfying the requirements of the Austrian Healthcare and Nursing Care Act, as well as orienting the nursing care practice towards the current scientific knowledge. The teaching and research are characterised by a strong interconnection between theory and practice, which is supported by the embedding of the university in the Salzburg province hospital. Another goal is the strengthening of the inter-professionalism.

Research


 

The nursing care scientific research is concentrated on the care research area. Here, the theory-practice transfer (in both directions) is in the centre. The objective is to use the research for the good of all participants in the healthcare system, in particular for the patients and the clients – but also to make sure that the new knowledge finds its way to the practice.


The care research can be divided in the following way:

  • Preventive
  • Curative
  • Rehabilitating
  • Palliative


At the institute, an inter-disciplinary team is doing research in the following disciplines:

  • Nursing science
  • Sociology
  • Medicine
  • Psychology
  • Economic science


Overview of the studies:

ALFIT

Within the framework of the Alfit study (2009 – 2011), a progressive strength training program for improving the strength, endurance and balance with sport-therapeutic devices in geriatric patients in an outpatient day clinic in Salzburg was tested regarding its effectiveness. In addition, the focus was also on the motivation, training experience as well as the effects on the everyday life of the training patients. Positive effects could be identified. The training program was used in nursing homes for the elderly.

Study design: Pilot study, prospective RCT, qualitative interviews
Status: completed

ABSM - Action Group Pain-free City of Münster

The care research project " Action Group Pain-free City of Münster" (2010-2014) was the first worldwide to the pain situation and the inter-professional pain management within an entire city municipality healthcare system. In the areas retirement home, hospital, outpatient care service, pain practice and hospice in the city of Münster, a total of more than 4,000 inhabitants, patients, guests, (family) physicians and caregivers were interviewed. The pain situation as well as the knowledge and care gaps were analysed, institution-specific interventions were performed, the well-functioning structures were strengthened and optimisations were implemented. The showcase project will make possible in the future a networked pain monitoring and treatment system across institutions and sector boundaries – a goal which currently finds special recognition by the World Health Organisation WHO as "Best Practice Model".

Homepage: http://www.schmerzfreie-stadt.de/
Study designs: Multi-centric pre-post studies (ex-post-facto design), explorative qualitative designs, semi-structured interviews and group discussions
Status: completed

OSiA - Optimised pain management in nursing homes for the elderly

The OSiA study (2011 – 2014) had the goal to optimise the pain management in nursing home for the elderly through targeted interventions and to integrate important elements of the scientific evidence of the optimal pain management in the nursing care. To this purpose, specific optimisation potentials were identified by means of analysis of the current situation, a systematic pain registration system was implemented and the nursing care personnel was qualified in the "Pain Nurse" training course. The optimisation of the pain management could be covered in a post-test of the study.

Study design: Non-experimental pre-post study with cluster sample
Status: completed

PainApp

In the "painApp – Mobile Pain Monitoring" (2013 – 2015) project, the painApp software for mobile end devices (e.g. Tablet-PCs, smart phones) was developed from the background of improving the therapeutic pain relief care of elderly people and its practical application in the outpatient healthcare was tested. The user-oriented painApp developed in the project is an application program adapted to the needs of elderly people. Its central elements present the documentation of the occurrence of the pain by the affected person as well as the communication between the actors participating in the treatment of the pain (family physicians, outpatient nursing care services, patients). It was possible to show within the framework of the evaluation that by the use of the painApp the communication was improved and the actors participating in the care were further connected in a network.

Homepage: http://www.painapp.de/
Study design: Development and formative evaluation status: completed
Status: completed

"InTherAKT" – Initiative for the safety of the medicinal products in the care for the elderly by cooperation and teamwork

Within the framework of the InTherAKT project, the therapeutic safety of medicinal products in nursing homes for the elderly is going to be improved by optimisation of the inter-professional cooperation and communication between the professional groups participating in the healthcare and by establishing a structured documentation and reflecting the effect of the mediation on the residents of the nursing homes for the elderly.

Study design: Non-experimental pre-post study
Status: current

Corporate culture change: an 18-year, two-phase in-depth study of change in the health care sector

A majority of the current enthusiasm for the study of corporate culture in the health care sector is fuelled by research associating the idea of mobilising human resources with health care performance as well as by organisational studies suggesting that health care culture can be easily changed. However, much of the research producing these results are predominantly focused on management objectives or 'best policy and practices' with little critical evaluation of health care professionals’ labour processes and the impact that such processes may have on both the performance of health care organisations and the management of health care employees. By assessing the continuing programme of mobilising corporate culture in one German hospital, this organizational study seeks to analyse the rationale, method, building elements and impact of corporate culture change initiatives in the same health care institution spaced 18 years apart. About 18 years ago, a change protocol concerning a number of corporate management techniques was introduced involving a combination of shared values and employee participation. The analysis of how these values have changed over time as well as its impact on participation is anticipated to produce a number of conclusions and implications (i.e. organisational effectiveness and quality of working life) for both health care management researchers and practitioners who are interested in the socio-relational dynamics and lived experiences related to management control and inequality in larger health care organisations.

Study design: Ethnographics revisited
Status: current


PRE study ISI COPD

The Institute for General, Family and Preventive Medicine conducts in cooperation with the Institute for Nursing Science and Practice a qualitative study on the subject Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD). The objective is to study the strong and weak points of the coordinated care of COPD patients in Salzburg. Based on the results of this PRE-study, an inter-disciplinary, structured and inter-sectoral COPD management must be developed (ISI COPD).

Team and contact

Institut für Pflegewissenschaft und -praxis
der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität
Strubergasse 21
5020 Salzburg, Austria
Fax: +43 662 2420-80009


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Osterbrink
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Director of the Institute & Director WHO Collaborating Centre for Nursing Research and Education

Phone: +43 662 2420-80300
Mail: juergen.osterbrink@pmu.ac.at
Publications
MMag. Yvonne Schmidt
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Assistant to the Director

Phone: +43 662 2420-80301
Mail: yvonne.schmidt@pmu.ac.at
Mag. Melina Mokry-Döringer
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Assistant to the Director

Phone: +43 662 2420-80302
Mail: melina.mokry@pmu.ac.at
Ass.-Prof. Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andre Ewers, MScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Mobile: +43 699 14420076
Mail: andre.ewers@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Jacqueline Horvatits
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice


Phone: +43 662 2420-80311
Mail: j.horvatits@pmu.ac.at
Andrea Artauf
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Administration

Phone: +43 662 2420-80303
Mail: andrea.artauf@pmu.ac.at
Mag. jur. Simone Ehn
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43662 2420-80356
Mail: simone.ehn@pmu.ac.at
Mag. jur. Franziska Andratsch
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate (currently on maternity leave)

Mail: franziska.andratsch@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Mag. Ulrike Bauer
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Mail: ulrike.bauer@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Margitta Beil-Hildebrand, Ph.D., M.Sc., Dip.Nurs.Mngt., PG Cert.HE, RGN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Professor for Qualitative Research and Healthcare Management
Director of PhD Program Nursing & Allied Health Sciences


Phone: +43 662 2420-80365
Mobile: +43 699 14420047
Mail: m.beil-hildebrand@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Stefanie Berger, BScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80350
Mail: stefanie.berger@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Beate Brandauer-Stickler, MA, BA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate (currently on maternity leave)

Mail: beate.brandauer@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Anna Brandauer, MSc, BA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80358
Mail: anna.brandauer@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Cornelia Brandstötter, MA
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80353
Mail: c.brandstoetter@pmu.ac.at
David Bruns
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +49 251 3222-9215
Mail: david.bruns@pmu.ac.at
Dr. Johannes Bükki
Institut for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Mobile: +49 152 0160 5606
Mail: johannes.buekki@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Johanna Dellinger, BA, MA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80349
Mail: johanna.dellinger@pmu.ac.at
Priv.-Doz. Mag. Dr. Anna Maria Dieplinger
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Studiengangsleitung Masterstudium Pflegewissenschaft

Phone: +43 662 2420-80360
Mobile: +43 699 14420033
Mail: anna.dieplinger@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Roland Eßl-Maurer, BScN, MScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80399
Mail: roland.essl@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Nicole Freywald
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 662 2420-80331
Mail: nicole.freywald@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Manela Glarcher, BSc, MSc
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80395
Mail: manela.glarcher@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Irmela Gnass, BScN, MScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 662 2420-80397
Mail: irmela.gnass@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Joachim von der Heide, M.A., Dipl.-Pflegepäd. (FH)
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Program Director bachelor nursing science 2in1 model

Phone: +43 662 2420-80320
Mobile: +43 699 14420018
Mail: joachim.heide@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Nina Henning, Dipl.-Pflegepäd. (FH), M.A.
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate (currently on maternity leave)

Mail: nina.henning@pmu.ac.at
Susanna Holzer, MHPE
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Coordinator for Students

Phone: +43 662 2420-80351
Mail: susanna.holzer@pmu.ac.at
Anna Maria Hubner
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Administration

Phone: +43 662 2420-80322
Mail: anna.hubner@pmu.ac.at
Michael Klösch, BSc
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 6622420-80357
Mail: michael.kloesch@pmu.ac.at
Christine Knauseder
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 662 2420-80381
Mail: christine.knauseder@pmu.ac.at
Alexander Kraus, MEd, BEd
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Studiengangsleitung Online-Studium Pflegewissenschaft

Phone: +43 662 2420-80330
Mobile: +43 699 14420059
Mail: alexander.kraus@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Laura Krisch, MSc, BA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate (currently on maternity leave)

Phone: +43 662 2420-80343
Mail: laura.krisch@pmu.ac.at
Publications
MMag. Simon Krutter, BA
Research Associate
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 662 2420-80341
Mail: simon.krutter@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Mag. Patrick Kutschar
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80344
Mail: patrick.kutschar@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Katharina Lex, MScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80317
Mail: katharina.lex@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Stefan Lorenzl, Dipl. Pall. med. (Univ. Cardiff)
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Professor for Interdisciplinary Research in Palliative Care

Phone: +43 662 2420-80315
Mobile: +43 699 14420081
Mail: stefan.lorenzl@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Prof. Dr. John McDonough, CRNA, EDP, ARNP
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Guest Professor

Mail: john.mcdonough@unf.edu
Mag. Barbara Mitterlehner, MPH
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80359
Mail: b.mitterlehner@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Patrick Mülleder, BSc
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80398
Mail: patrick.muelleder@pmu.ac.at
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Nadja Nestler, Dipl. Pflegewissenschaftlerin (FH)
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
main research: care of patients with chronic diseases

Phone: +43 662 2420-80396
Mail: nadja.nestler@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Valentin Neudeck, MScN, BScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80347
Mail: valentin.neudeck@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Martina Nussbaumer, Bakk. phil., MA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Program Director Master's degree nursing science Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80394
Mail: martina.nussbaumer@pmu.ac.at
Mag. Nicole Ortner
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
(currently on maternity leave)

Mail: nicole.ortner@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Piret Paal
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80354
Mail: piret.paal@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Mag. Stefan Pitzer
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80352
Mail: stefan.pitzer@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Firuzan Sari-Kundt, MPH, MA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80348
Mail: firuzan.sari@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Astrid Scheidler, MScN, BScN
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80355
Mail: astrid.scheidler@pmu.ac.at
Ulrike Schildbeck
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 2420-80304
Mail: ulrike.schildbeck@pmu.ac.at
Magdalena Schreier, Dipl.-Pflegewirtin (FH)
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80340
Mail: magdalena.schreier@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Nina Schürholz, MA
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Administration

Mail: nina.schuerholz@pmu.ac.at
Mag. Adelheid Schwaighofer
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Administration

Phone: +43 662 2420-80321
Mail: heidi.schwaighofer@pmu.ac.at
Dipl. Pflegew. (FH) Christine Schwarz-Winter, MSc, Pflegepädagogin
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice

Phone: +43 662 2420-80380
Mobile: +43 699 14420095
Mail: c.schwarz-winter@pmu.ac.at
Kristina Seibold, BA, MSc
Institute of Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80393
Mail: kristina.seibold@pmu.ac.at
Mag. Denise Seidenspinner , MScN
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate

Mobile: +49 177 1802583
Mail: denise.seidenspinner@pmu.ac.at
Mag. Helga Stadler, BSc
Institute for Nursing Science and Practice
Research Associate (currently on maternity leave)