Research > Research Support > Postgraduate Students Support Program "Discite!"

Postgraduate students support program "Discite!"

The in 2015 newly created program for financing the places for postgraduate students within the framework of the Discite! program will, on the one hand, support the scientific doctorate education at the hospitals and institutes of Paracelsus Medical University (PMU) and, on the other hand, allow to cover the cost of living expenses of the supported doctoral candidates within the framework of a job position, which is foreseen also by other institutional funding authorities.

The Latin name of the program signifies the objective: Discite! means "Learn!" and it supports the postgraduate education at doctorate level at Paracelsus University. The scholarships are awarded within the framework of a competitive application procedure and are linked to the person of the doctoral candidate.

Discite! has the goal to support the doctoral candidates in such clinics and institutes, for whom sufficient third-party funds for covering their living expenses during the first year of study could not ensured, whereby as a result of the already demonstrated scientific performance on their own initiative in the clinic or the institute the acquisition of the corresponding funds for the next year can be expected. In the end, Discite! is supposed to facilitate the start of dissertation projects that otherwise could not be or could not yet be realised. The 50% co-financing of the personnel costs of the postgraduate student with own funds of the clinic or the institute (match of funds) for developing the dissertation project is a prerequisite for the funding and must be available when the application is filed.

The target group of Discite! are persons who have been admitted to a postgraduate doctorate study at PMU. The applicant is the habillitated PMU-affiliated mentor of the respective postgraduate student. After the end of the one-year support period, the financing is continued through granted external research funds, project cooperation or other financial support means.

Forschung & Innovation > Forschungsförderung > Dissertanten-Förderprogramm "Discite!"

Dissertanten-Förderprogramm „Discite!“

Die 2015 seitens der Paracelsus Universität neu geschaffene Finanzierung von Dissertantenstellen im Rahmen des Discite!-Programms soll einerseits die wissenschaftliche Doktoratsausbildung an den Kliniken und Instituten der Paracelsus Universität unterstützen und andererseits den geförderten Dissertanten die Deckung ihrer Lebenshaltungskosten im Rahmen einer Anstellung ermöglichen, die auch andere institutionelle Fördergeber vorsehen.

Der lateinische Name ist Programm: Discite! bedeutet "Lernt!" und unterstützt die postgraduelle Ausbildung auf Doktoratsniveau an der Paracelsus Universität. Die Stipendien gelangen im Rahmen eines kompetitiven Antragsverfahrens zur Vergabe und sind an die Person des Dissertanten gebunden.

Discite! verfolgt das Ziel, Dissertanten an solchen Kliniken und Instituten zu unterstützen, für welche im ersten Studienjahr keine ausreichenden Drittmittel zur vollständigen Deckung der Lebenshaltungskosten aufgebracht werden können, wobei infolge der bereits eigeninitiativ erbrachter wissenschaftlicher Leistungen der Klinik bzw. des Instituts eine Einwerbung entsprechender Mittel für die Folgejahre zu erwarten ist. Letztlich soll Discite! den Beginn solcher Dissertationsprojekte ermöglichen, die ansonsten nicht oder noch nicht realisiert werden könnten. Die 50%-ige Kofinanzierung der Personalkosten des Dissertanten durch eigene Mittel der Klinik bzw. des Instituts (Match of Funds) zur Durchführung des Dissertationsprojektes ist Voraussetzung für die Förderung und muss bei Antragstellung vorliegen.

Zielgruppe von Discite! sind Personen, die in einem postgraduellen Doktoratsstudium an der PMU zugelassen wurden. Als Antragsteller fungiert der habilitierte, PMU-affiliierte Betreuer des jeweiligen Dissertanten. Nach Ende des einjährigen Förderzeitraums soll die Finanzierung über eingeworbene Grants, Projektkooperationen bzw. anderweitige Fördermittel weitergeführt werden.

Sehr geehrte Forschende: Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Förderungsprogramme derzeit überarbeitet und bis auf weiteres keine Einreichungen angenommen werden. Die nächsten Calls und Deadlines werden rechtzeitig bekannt gegeben. Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen im Forschungsservice gerne zur Verfügung.