Scientific Research Institutes > University Institutes > Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Director: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dirk Strunk


 

Regenerative therapy is one of the most promising fields in modern medicine. At the Institute for Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy (ExCT) we investigate new mechanisms of organ and tissue  regeneration: Based on the identification of unsolved medical problems (Medical need), new research approaches (R&D) and new therapeutic concepts are developed. Two core facilities (Bioinformatics; Flow Cytometry) are operated by ExCT to service PMU researchers. 

 

Projects

The central question of our work is to understand which aspects of cell therapy can be simplified & replaced by using the factors and extracellular vesicles secreted by the cells.

We focus on stem cells including the so-called universal iPSC and their molecular secretome in interaction with platelet factors (HPL). A new research focus is the clinical application of stabilized mRNA.

 

Team and contact

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dirk Strunk
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Director

Phone: +43 662 2420-80730
Mail: dirk.strunk@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Franziska Binder
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Assistant to the Director and Project Manager

Phone: +43 662 2420-80731
Mobile: +43 699 14420089
Mail: franziska.binder@pmu.ac.at
Dr. Gabriele Brachtl
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Operating Director Core Facility Flow Cytometry | Post Doc (currently on maternity leave)

Mail: gabriele.brachtl@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Essi Eminger, MSc
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Technical Assistant

Phone: +43 662 2420-80735
Mail: essi.eminger@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Sarah Hochmann
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

PostDoc

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: sarah.hochmann@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Patricia Ebner
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

PostDoc

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: patricia.ebner@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Rodolphe Poupardin
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Bioinformatician | PostDoc

Phone: +43 662 2420-80735
Mail: rodolphe.poupardin@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Anna Raninger, MSc
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Technical Assistant (currently on maternity leave)

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: anna.raninger@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Cornelia Scharler, PhD
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Post Doc (currently on maternity leave)

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: cornelia.scharler@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Dr. Martin Wolf
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy 

PostDoc

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: martin.wolf@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Katharina Muigg, MSc
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Ph.D. Student

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: katharina.muigg@pmu.ac.at
Publications
Mag. Heide-Marie Binder, PhD
Spinal Cord Injury and Tissue Regeneration Center Salzburg (SCI-TReCS)
Institute of Experimental and Clinical Cell Therapy

Research Associate

Phone: +43 662 2420-80734
Mail: heide.binder@pmu.ac.at
Publications