Research and Innovation Awards
Research & Innovation > Research Organisation > Research and Innovation Awards

Research and Innovation Awards

The scientists and researchers at Paracelsus Medical Private University conduct science and research at an internationally high level.

For this purpose, the Research and Innovation Awards (RIA) are awarded once a year. They replace the “Paracelsus Wissenschaftspreise” previously awarded and focus in a few categories on people and projects who particularly stand out.

Starting in 2021, prizes will be awarded in the following categories every year:

  • Best young researcher (female and male, 1st-3rd place each)
  • Best first author of a top publication (female and male, 1st-3rd place each)
  • Researcher of the year (female and male, 1 prize each)

For each year, individual priorities will then be set, in 2022 prizes will be awarded in these additional categories:

  • Outstanding achievement in innovation and translation
  • Most cited work by a young researcher (citation since 2017) (female and male, 1 prize each)

Here you can find all the details about the Research and Innovation Awards 2022 (pdf in German).

The RIA are awarded by a jury consisting of the two Vice Rectors for Research as well as for Innovation and Digitization, three members of the Research and Innovation Board and the head of the RIM - Research and Innovation Management.

The winners will be presented to a wide audience at the kick-off of the virtual Science Get Together on July 1st, 2022 - be there!

Eligible for these prizes are all employees of the institutes of the PMU as well as of the University Hospital Salzburg, who are in an ongoing employment relationship at the time of the jury meeting. The heads of the departments and institutes, research institutes and programs are excluded from participation.



Research service at RIM
Strubergasse 21, 5020 Salzburg