University > University > Organisation


The legal entity of PMU is the "Paracelsus Medical Private University Salzburg – Private Foundation". The legal form of a private foundation was selected in order to emphasise the durability and the non-profit status of the work and activities of Paracelsus University. The Foundation Board guarantees the funding and execution of all measures which contribute to the operation and maintenance of the university or are necessary and/or appropriate. One half of the composition of the Foundation Board is delegated periodically upon proposal of the sponsor State of Salzburg, while the other half is elected at a meeting of the sponsors. The Foundation Board elects a Management Board of three members for a three-year term, which reports to the Foundation Board.

Foundation Management Board

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Sperl (Chairman)
Dr. Volker Viechtbauer
Mag.a Lydia Gruber

Foundation Board

LH.-Stv. Dr. Christian Stöckl (Vorsitz) iR. Dr. Irene Oesch-Hayward (1. stv. Vorsitzende Stiftungsrat)
Dr. Bernhard Fürthauer
Dr. Heinrich Dieter Kiener
Landesrätin Mag.a. Andrea Klambauer (2. stv. Vorsitzende Stiftungsrat) Gertraud Leimüller, MPA
Dkfm. Dietrich Mateschitz
Mag. Jürgen Rauch
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Herbert Resch
Mag.a Gerlinde Rogatsch
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Felix Sedlmayer
Dr. Peter Unterkofler

The University management has a principal and a chancellor. They are also members of the Management Board of the foundation legal entity, which is appropriate and necessary in the sense of the uniform responsibility and management of the business. The vice principal, the deans, the vice-deans, the directors of the institutions and the heads of departments have also additional functions with management responsibility.