Study human medicine at the private university
Study & continuing education > Master's Degree Studies > Human Medicine

Study in human medicine

The goal of the degree study program in human medicine at Paracelsus Medical Private University (PMU) is to educate competent and scientifically thinking physicians. Our graduates must be adequate to the requirements of modern medicine and practice humane, patient-oriented medicine.

75 students are admitted per year at the Salzburg location, 50 students at the Nuremberg location. They are selected in an elaborate, three-stage admission procedure. Hereby we are oriented towards socially engaged and highly motivated applicants who bring clearly expressed interest in man as biological and social being and in the natural-science and psychosocial aspects of the diseases.

The human medicine curriculum of Paracelsus University was accredited in 2002 and since then it has been re-accredited in regular intervals. The structure of the study content is oriented to the modern American medical schools. The successful completion of the first part of the American entrance examination (USMLE Step 1) is obligatory at Paracelsus University and is a necessary condition for the completion of the course of study. The study ends with the degree of "Dr. med. univ." and is internationally recognised.

Study locations and partners in the study

The degree study program human medicine has been offered in Salzburg (Austria) since 2003 and since 2014 also in Nuremberg (Germany). The study is supported by the university’s own institutes and their departments, academic teaching hospitals, general medicine teaching practices and external instructors at the respective study location.

Important partners in the clinical area are the Salzburg University Hospital and the Nuremberg Hospital. In the natural sciences area, the medical education is carried out, among others, by qualified lecturers at the Natural Sciences Faculty of the Paris Lodron University in Salzburg and at the Technical University Georg Simon Ohm. In the fourth and fifth study year, the students can complete a study stay abroad at international partners within the framework of the research trimester and the clinical internship.

Contact Salzburg

Mag.a Doris Carstensen, MBA
The Study of Human Medicine Salzburg
Course Director | Salzburg

Phone: +43 662 2420-80220
Mobile: +43 699 14420052
Mail: doris.carstensen@pmu.ac.at
Eva Niederreiter
Course Administration of Medicine | Salzburg

Phone: +43 662 2420-80221
Mail: eva.niederreiter@pmu.ac.at
Nadja Genser
Course Administration of Medicine  | Salzburg

Phone: +43 662 2420-80224
Mail: nadja.genser@pmu.ac.at
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Elmar Aigner

Phone: +43 662 57255-58358
Mail: e.aigner@salk.at
Publications
Leonie Strasser, Bakk. Komm.
Course Administration of Medicine | Salzburg

Phone: +43 662 2420-80222
Mail: leonie.strasser@pmu.ac.at
Claudia Kainhofer
Course Administration of Medicine | Salzburg

Phone: +43 662 2420-80223
Mail: claudia.kainhofer@pmu.ac.at
Cornelia Maier

Phone: +43 662 2420-80225
Mail: cornelia.maier@pmu.ac.at

Contact Nuremberg

Dr.in Ines Spieler, MME
Course Director of Medicine | Nürnberg

Phone: +49 911 398-6753
Tel.: für Studieninteressierte: +49 911 398-6750

Mail: ines.spieler@pmu.ac.at
Jessica Wirth
Course Administration of Medicine | Nuremberg

Phone: +49 911 398-6750
Fax: +49 911 398-6751
Mail: jessica.wirth@pmu.ac.at
Simone Haßelwander
Course Administration of Medicine | Nuremberg

Phone: +49 911 398-6756
Fax: +49 911 398 6751
Mail: simone.hasselwander@pmu.ac.at
Christiane Baumann
Course Administration of Medicine | Nuremberg

Phone: +49 911 398-6752
Fax: +49 911 398-6751
Mail: christiane.baumann@pmu.ac.at
Jacqueline Catalano
Course Administration of Medicine | Nuremberg

Phone: +49 911 398 6755
Fax: +49 911 398-6751
Mail: jacqueline.catalano@pmu.ac.at
Louisa Schwegler
Course Administration of Medicine | Nuremberg

Phone: +49 911 398-6760
Fax: +49 911 398-6751
Mail: louisa.schwegler@pmu.ac.at